Institute for Astronomy Home
IFA Home Page   |    Search   |    Other Editions    No. 44 - 2012 
  All Articles  



Olivier Guyon

Olivier Guyon. Courtesy of the John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Olivier Guyon, who worked at IfA during the final years of his PhD thesis research, has received one of 23 MacArthur Fellowships, also known as the “genius grants.” Recipients receive a $500,000 no-strings-attached grant over five years. While at IfA, Guyon worked with IfA faculty member François Roddier. He received his PhD from the Université Pierre et Marie Curie in 2002 and now works at both the Subaru telescope on Hawai‘i island and at the University of Arizona, where he is an assistant professor. He specializes in designing telescopes and the instruments for them.

In June, IfA Director Günther Hasinger won the Prof. Luigi Tartufari International Prize, from the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei in Rome, Italy. These awards are given yearly to Italian or foreign scholars in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, earth sciences, and molecular biology and genetics. Founded in 1603, the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei once included Galileo Galilei among its members.

Two former IfA graduate students received awards for their thesis research. Emily Levesque (PhD 2010) shared the Astronomical Society of the Pacific’s 2012 Robert J. Trumpler award for a PhD thesis “considered unusually important to astronomy.” Sarah Jaeggli (PhD 2011), IfA solar astronomer Haosheng Lin, and Han Uitenbroek (National Solar Observatory) have received a 2012 AURA Science Award for work that explains the very high magnetic fields often observed in sunspot umbra. Jaeggli’s doctoral dissertation formed the basis of this work, which was published in the February 1, 2012, issue of the Astrophysical Journal. AURA (Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy) is a consortium of universities and other institutions that operates world-class astronomical observatories, including the Gemini telescopes on Mauna Kea and in Chile, and the Space Telescope Science Institute, which carries out the scientific mission of the Hubble Space Telescope.