Institute for Astronomy Home
IFA Home Page   |    Search   |    Other Editions    No. 11 - Spring 2004 
  All Articles  


New Faculty and Postdoctoral Fellows

R. Jedicke
E. Tollestrup
M. Liu
Robert Jedicke
Eric Tollestrup
Michael Liu
F. Bresolin

Many new faculty members arrived at the Institute for Astronomy in 2003. Robert Jedicke arrived in March to join the Pan-STARRS (Panoramic Survey Telescope and Rapid Response System) project (see Na Kilo Hoku no. 6, fall 2002). He studies near-Earth asteroids (NEAs), the kind that may pose an impact risk to Earth.

Eric Tollestrup, who received his Ph.D. from UH in 1987, returned to IfA in June as IRTF Deputy Division Chief in Hilo. His interests include developing instrumentation for infrared astronomy and studies of star-forming regions.

Two recent postdoctoral fellows, Michael Liu and Fabio Bresolin, now have permanent faculty positions at IfA. Former CFHT resident astronomer, Eugene Magnier, is now in Manoa to work on the Pan-STARRS project. He grew up in Honolulu and graduated from Punahou School.

There are several new postdoctoral fellows: Paul Price works on the Pan-STARRS data reduction pipeline. Fabrizio Bernardi helps David Tholen find near-Earth asteroids. Pablo Fosalba studies the cosmic microwave background and the large-scale structure of the Universe with István Szapudi. Luca Rizzi assists Brent Tully with the study of stellar populations of nearby galaxies.

Jan Kleyna is the Beatrice Watson Parrent Fellow. His area of interest is galaxy dynamics. He has also worked with David Jewitt to develop codes for the real-time detection of moving objects such as Jovian satellites. Crystal Brogan, the James Clerk Maxwell Fellow, studies the interstellar medium. She works at the IfA Hilo facility.

Tiziana Cherubini is the research meteorologist for the Mauna Kea Weather Center located at the UH Department of Meteorology. She received a Ph.D. in geophysics in 2001 from the University of L’Aquila in Italy.

E. Magnier
Fabio Bresolin
Eugene Magnier
P. Price
F. Bernardi
Paul Price
Fabrizio Bernardi
P. Fosalba
L. Rizzi
Pablo Fosalba
Luca Rizzi

J. Kleyna

C. Brogan
Jan Kleyna   Crystal Brogan
T. Cherubini
Tiziana Cherubini